DIY Fruit Fly Trap

P1090453

It’s that time of the year again! If you’re anything like me, you start to notice the fruit flies floating around your kitchen. Since I have a compost bin on my kitchen counter, and rarely do the dishes I think they love my kitchen more so. Every year it’s same battle of combat, I try to kill them by clapping them in my hands. There are two things wrong with this. 1: They are quicker than you think and I rarely get one. 2: When I do get one I’m always grossed out by it’s dead body on my hand.

So what are your options? You can use bug spray, but those are so toxic and chemical laden (not to mention expensive!) I try to stay away from that stuff. You could put up one of those yellow fly paper things. Hello? can you say gross!? Or you can try this little trick of mine. All you need is two simple ingredients that you probably already have.

First of all you’ll need a small bowl and plastic wrap. Pour just enough apple cider vinegar in the bowl to cover the bottom. Then add a drop or two of dish soap. This will break the surface tension so the fly can’t just sit on top of the vinegar. Next cover the bowl tightly with plastic wrap and poke several holes in it. Place the bowl where the flies frequent your kitchen. I put mine by the fruit bowl first because we had a peach that over ripened and they were all over it. Later I moved it to be near the compost bin. When I first placed it, I caught four flies with in an hour!

Now you can kick back, relax and enjoy that glass of wine without being bothered by those pesky little bugs!

 

One thought on “DIY Fruit Fly Trap

Leave a Reply

